EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

MEETING HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, BOOTLE ON THURSDAY 17TH DECEMBER, 2009

PRESENT: The Mayor (Councillor Doran) (in the Chair)

Councillors Barber, Blackburn, Booth, Bradshaw, Brady, Brodie - Browne, Byrom, Cluskey, Colbert, Connell, Cummins, Cuthbertson, Dodd, M Dowd, P Dowd, Fairclough, Lord Fearn, Fenton, Friel, Gibson, Glover, Griffiths, Gustafson, Hands, Hill, Hough, Ibbs, D Jones, T Jones, Kerrigan, Larkin, Maher, Mahon, C Mainey, S Mainey, McGuire, Moncur, Parry, Pearson, Preston, D Rimmer, Roberts, Robertson, Shaw, Storey, Sumner, Tattersall, Tonkiss, Tweed, Veidman,

Sir Ron Watson, Weavers and Webster

47. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from the Deputy Mayor, Councillor M. Fearn and Councillors Brennan, Byrne, D. Hardy, P. Hardy, Howe, McGinnity, Papworth, Platt, Porter and B. Rimmer.

48. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were received.

49. ELECTORAL CYCLE – RESOLUTION FOR WHOLE COUNCIL ELECTIONS

Further to Minute No. 193 of the Cabinet meeting held on 12 November 2009, the Council considered the report of the Legal Director on the provisions of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 which allows local authorities that elect by thirds to move to whole Council Elections every four years. The report indicated that there is a 'permitted resolution period' for authorities that wish to change their electoral cycle and in the case of Sefton and other Metropolitan Councils, a resolution must be passed no later than 31 December 2009 by the Council.

The effect of any potential change in the electoral cycle upon Town and Parish Councils in Sefton, the results of the consultation process undertaken and the financial implications were detailed in the report.

It was moved by Councillor Robertson, seconded by Councillor P. Dowd and

RESOLVED:

That the Council continue with the current electoral cycle of elections by thirds.